Nice little hailer!

First day of fall and BAM! I’m out chasing severe weather.

I half heartedly  watched the storms pop up all morning today and I was home sick. I mean really sick. Very sick indeed, kept an eye on things developing and I saw a window of opportunity from a cell I was watching passing over Turner County, SD and it was heading right for me.SP_FSD_200pm Well maybe a little southeast of me but close enough I could rationalize chasing it in my mind. So headed out to intercept in Canton, SD. I have a really close friend that lives and works in Canton so I thought I’d pop in and say hey, I mean what better conditions right? As I approached Canton I could see right away this thing had some hail in it.

DSCF4799

DSCF4795

While it wasn’t one of those storms that you drive hundreds of miles for in hopes for a tornado, this was one that if you were close enough it was worth investigating.SP_FSD_230pm

I pulled up to my friends place of business and he was in the back of the shop. I saw me pop in and asked “What brings you here?” I replied “Hail”. After pointing out the front window and showing the storm that was on the way he quickly pulled his truck in the shop with not a moment to spare. Within a minuet or two the hail started coming down. Pretty good stuff too 1.5”. I took off out of there to get out of the core while chatting with Tony Barlow from Keloland all the while hoping I didn’t lose another windshield.DSCF4801DSCF4807

After the storm passed I headed back for home grabbing some shots along the way.

DSCF4813DSCF4815

 

DSCF4819

Leave a Reply

